Memorial Symposium

2016 Memorial Symposium

cal con 2016 banner

Tooru Atake Memorial Symposium

The Sixth International Symposium on New Frontiers in Thermal Studies of Materials

TooruAtakeReduced35The North American Calorimetry Conference and Japan Society of Calorimetry and Thermal Analysis are honored to convene a special memorial symposium celebrating the life and legacy of Professor Tooru Atake. As founder and organizer of the First International Symposium on New Frontiers in Thermal Studies of Materials (1998), Professor Atake envisioned a collegial forum comprised of internationally renowned experts who reported pioneering advancements in the critical field of Materials Science. In the footsteps of this inaugural meeting, Professor Atake organized the Second (2001), Third (2004), and Fourth (2008) International Symposia. Following his untimely passing in 2011, the Japan Society of Calorimetry and Thermal Analysis formally assumed responsibility for hosting subsequent International Symposia and convened a rescheduled Fifth Meeting in 2013. The proximate location of this year's conference in Oahu served as a natural venue to assemble our respective societies within the umbrella of a Joint Meeting.

The Conference Organizing Committee respectfully dedicates The Sixth International Symposium on New Frontiers in Thermal Studies of Materials as a tribute to the memory of Professor Tooru Atake in recognition of his seminal contributions involving the development and application of adiabatic calorimetry for elucidating the thermodynamic properties of unique solid state systems. During an illustrious academic career spanning four decades at the Tokyo Institute of Technology, Professor Atake published over 150 research articles for which he received numerous accolades including the prestigious 1999 James J. Christensen and 2007 Hugh M. Huffman Memorial Awards administered by The Calorimetry Conference. We cordially invite colleagues to join us in celebrating the enduring personal and scientific legacy of Professor Tooru Atake whose longstanding friendship and lifelong achievements serve as an inspiration to current and future generations of calorimetrists and thermodynamicists.

Symposium Chairs:

  • Yasuhiro Nakazawa - Osaka University
  • Hitoshi Kawaji - Tokyo Institute of Technology
  • David P. Remeta - Rutgers University

Atake Lecture:

Dr. Marcelo Jaime, Los Alamos National Laboratory, Los Alamos, New Mexico · USA

"The Adiabatic Physics of Magnetic Materials in Extreme Fields Beyond 100T"

Invited Lectures:

  • Dr. Maksym Barabaschko, B. I. Verkin Institute · Kharkov · Ukraine
  • Prof. Jean-Luc Garden, Institut Néel · Grenoble · France
  • Prof. Jean-Pierre Grolier, Université Blaise Pascal · Clermont · France
  • Prof. Minoru Hanaya, Gunma University · Kiryu · Japan
  • Prof. Yuko Hosokoshi, Osaka Prefecture University · Sakai · Japan
  • Prof. Yuko Ichiyanagi, Yokohama National University · Yokohama · Japan
  • Prof. Toshiro Sakakibara, University of Tokyo · Kashiwa · Japan
  • Prof. Christoph Schick, Rostock Univeristy · Rostock · Germany
  • Prof. Emmerich Wilhelm, Universität Wien · Wien · Austria
  • Prof. Brian F. Woodfield, Brigham Young University · Provo · Utah
  • Prof. Harukazu Yoshino, Osaka City University · Osaka · Japan